Hello im new looking for advice

C

Hello there
I'm new just found you guys!

Looking for some advice. I have been doing my phd for about 6 years. I completed all my research etc, and began the write up, I then had a very complicated pregnancy and had a baby nearly 3 years ago. I returned part time and tried to write up but was plagued with health issues. I havent been supported through this much and was given a final deadline of this sept. I had been working towards this but had to go into hospital for an operation in july and recovery has been slower than expected. Though i finally found out the source of my problems and hope that i should be recovering from here on in.

I doubt i will submit in sept, I have written about 1/3 of the thesis, though a lot is there is bits and pieces but needs drawn together. My health isnt great. I will be disappointed to give up as i feel i could have got there, but i doubt i will get extensions again. Do you think i could withdraw for another year then come back to it?

My superisor is also off on long term ill health.

I dont want to have to walk away now, but it feels like i may be forced to! Or should i force myself to submit something in sept, but im so scared it will be crap and i will fail.

Would appreciate opinions

Cel

D

Hi,

You seem to have been through a lot. If your health still isn't great, I would suggest withdrawing for another year if you can, as this will take some of the pressure of you. If you are able to do this, I would also suggest you try to do some of the write up in this time as well but easy does it.

C

I agree with Delta. You have been through a very tough time. I would definitely take a suspension of studies and try to work a little bit during this time.