Help!!!! - Raising PhD funding after offer recieved

J

Hi everyone,

I am happy to have recieved an unconditional offer for a PhD in Computer Science and Molecular biology. I had sought to pursue research in Alzheimers and computer aided drug design at St. Georges however my supervisor (who I had done my masters thesis with) had to semi retire and was unable to attain funding. My background is in software engineering and I hold an MPharm degree.

The PhD I have a formal offer for was advertised as competition funded. However, on recently ringing the department I was told I hadn't been awarded departmental funding as the competition was very high :-(

(would attach that Beatles song Help!!! here)

I have started writing to relevant research councils to try and arrange funding but I'm a bit lost as how to organise this before I am due to start this September.

I would be most grateful for any suggestions/ideas people may have.

Thanks in advance,
Jamie

B

I think both the relevant research councils (assuming MRC and EPSRC?) award funding for doctoral students directly to universities, who then decide who gets the money, so this may be what you've already been considered for. I think the quickest way of finding out what possibilities there are would be to ask the department, what other students have done in this situation. One thing that does occur to me is whether you might be able to get an industrial sponsor through a collaborative studentship for something like that. Sadly, getting a PhD place is a lot easier that getting funding. On another note, if the supervisor is semi-retired, is s/he necessarily going to be the best person to supervise you? I'm just thinking that someone winding down their research career may not be interested in publishing more articles etc with you.

M

A semi retired supervisor may retire in a few years' time.
My friend had similar experience; five years later, the new supervisor had a different perspective from the retired supervisor...