How do you know that your work hasn't been done by anyone?

T

======= Date Modified 06 Jul 2012 19:30:55 =======
This is my constant worry at the moment; I'm still in my first year and my work is a research project that I proposed, and at the moment, I can't find papers that have done my work, other than overlapping works, which I think the latter is ok.

How do you guys manage this? How do you know that your work hasn't been done? I'm worried that all of the sudden, during my 3rd year, someone else has actually done it and I'd be utterly gutted : (

H

It's always a risk, and not something that will go away once your PhD is over. The chances are that over the course of anyone's research career there will be at least one occasion on which one is 'scooped'. The prospect is more daunting for us early career researchers though.

For anyone, it's a source of frustration, but the consequences may vary by field. For example, I work in population health and although I'd love to be the first to demonstrate a particular phenomenon, if someone else gets there first, I can adapt my work to demonstrate that the relationship holds true in a different population group. In fact, this kind of consolidation is considered a good thing!

As a point of reassurance - when I started my PhD, we were told that our project had to be novel work on the basis of what the state of play was at the start of our PhD. So if, two years after starting, someone else publishes work similar to yours, the PhD is not invalidated, though it makes publication more difficult.

All you can really do is keep abreast of your field, anticipate where others may take their research, and not put all your eggs in one intellectual basket, so that if you do get scooped, you can adapt and evolve your work accordingly.

D

A very thorough review of the literature and searching will help to identify whether anybody hasn't done it already, but the real issue is other people doing the same thing at the same time.