How much support can I expect (1st year publication)

T

I'm in my first year of the phd. I've planned some studies and will be collecting data for it, and I already have in mind the kind of journals that it could be published in. Their quality is average - to - low average. I want to do better than that but I don't feel I have the skill yet to accomplish it alone, given that I am a new phd student. But I feel 100% that I could accomplish it with some support. Is it normal in the 1st year that I should expect my supervisor to support me to do better than I could do alone / without support? I mean in terms of planning studies that could be submitted to high quality journals........

H

Quote From Tudor_Queen:
I'm in my first year of the phd. I've planned some studies and will be collecting data for it, and I already have in mind the kind of journals that it could be published in. Their quality is average - to - low average. I want to do better than that but I don't feel I have the skill yet to accomplish it alone, given that I am a new phd student. But I feel 100% that I could accomplish it with some support. Is it normal in the 1st year that I should expect my supervisor to support me to do better than I could do alone / without support? I mean in terms of planning studies that could be submitted to high quality journals........

I love your enthusiasm but I don't think students publish in their 1st year - it is quite rare!

T

I guess it depends on the field and phd. Mine is psychology and I'm taking the alternative thesis route, so my thesis should consist of a set of papers. We are expected to have submitted for the first publication in the first year. Any advice on my actual question? :)

H

Quote From Tudor_Queen: