How old were you - starting the phd?

P

in general, what's the most apt age? what would be looked upon as good or not so good, career wise? lecturing etc.

C

I was 21. Which I think was maybe a bit too young (for me, anyway)

P

that's so young, lucky you, how old were you when you finished?

D

I was 22 - I graduated then worked for the NHS for one year before starting.

S

I was 21 when I started and I just turned 22 last November.

B

I think in humanities PhD students are a bit older. I was 27 and that's about the youngest research students seem to be at my college. I turn 30 in November and I'm aiming too submit my thesis by the end of September so I probably won't viva before I hit the next decade.

P

I started at 40, after a career in journalism. I decided to take a year out for my MA just to spend time studying something I was really interested in. Then I got hooked and was offered the chance to do my PhD with my supervisor who had got funding for a big project. A lot of the PhD students I know are the same age as me and in the groups I mix with, mature students are the norm and there are fewer in their 20s.

E

I will turn 30 in September and I juste started. I took two ywars off after my first master then I got a jov, decided to do an MBA and found an interesting area for research.

H

I was 22 when I started my rotation year and 23 when I started my PhD (I had 4 years funding including a preliminary year).

But as I've just dropped out, I reckon I'll be at least 27 before I start another one. IF I start another one!

My advice? Don't feel you need to rush it. The British system is structured such that people rush straight through a relatively short Bachelors and can theoretically obtain a PhD by the age of 24. I think there is a lot to be said for taking one's time and gathering more experience en route.

S