How to start out well with Supervisor ?

E

I have already met my supervisor a couple of times, for preliminary talks. But now I'll have to hand him my research proposal (ulp !) and talk about the rest of my PhD. I have no idea what to talk about, but I do want to make things clear with him from the start so that I know what I'm expected to do !

My problem is that in the country where I studied earlier there wasn't any Masters dissertation, so I have no idea about how research works. Also, due to cultural issues students were treated like school kids, not like adults. So, now I never know how to talk to professors and find the balance between being an assertive adult and yet being respectful.

I have no idea how independent I am supposed to be in my work, how to go about writing my thesis, how often the Sup expects to see me, what he expects of me...
And the point is that I would like guidance and control in the beginning, but I don't want him to think I'm so completely lost. On the other hand I'm scared that I'll act all pulled-together and competent, and that will prevent him from giving me the help and advice that I need !
So, what do I need to talk about with the Sup ?
What are the questions that I need to ask ?
Any other tips ?
I would also like to make with him something like a time-table for me...

PS I'm in Germany now, BTW

Thanks in advance to those who took the time to read through this and answer !

T

I think finding the balance between assertive and respectful is tough for a lot of people, especially those coming straight from undergraduate, as it is the first time you are potentially surrounding by your peers and colleagues.

If they are a good supervisor, they will know the answer to all your questions and will guide you through the first few months. A timetable is a good idea, but remember at this early stage especially things will change a lot.

S