Humanities phd - publish as a book or as papers?

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could offer their thoughts or advice on my current situation? The details are below, but in essence I'm asking how you guys think publishing a thesis as an entire book compares to publishing chapters separately as journal articles, in the field of arts/ humanities?

I finished my literature phd last year and submitted a book proposal to have it published as part of a relatively new book series by a respected academic publisher in my field. I was delighted to receive an acceptance of my proposal, however the publication offer requires me to pay a 'subvention' towards the publication costs. I fully expected this, as I am aware that it is now common in my field, and the publisher is well respected so it is not a case of 'vanity' publishing. The problem is that, while the publisher suggested that most students in my position are able to get thesis publications funded by their department, my former university have informed me that there is no money available for this. I am currently out of academia (though am hoping publishing will allow me to keep that door open for the future), and it will be difficult for me to finance this myself, so I'm beginning to wonder whether it would be better to try to publish my chapters as separate journal articles instead, rather than investing in the book project. I didn't submit any chapters to journals during my phd, as I had always had in mind to try to get it published as a book.

Thanks a million for any thoughts you care to share!

M

In Law School, it is normally better to publish that PhD as a book rather than papers, if one wishes to do a postdoc.

B

In humanities a book is normally regarded more highly than individual journal papers, but papers - if enough of them - can be a good substitute.