I am looking to do a phd. please help!

L

Hi,

I am a graduate in microbiology..passed out in distinction and i did my masters in biotechnology (grade: C) from uk ... unfortunately i have been out of my field for nearly 1 year now. i am not getting any jobs in my field. i am really depressed :-( about that. i have sent nearly 100's of applications in my field and it used to end up either in rejection letters or no reply. To support myself and my family back home i am currently working in a call centre in uk (to help me repay back my educational loan as well). I never had any plans of doing a phd before completing my masters. now i feel like doing a phd..so as to establish my career..my area of interest would be in environmental microbiology e.g: bio energy, bio fuels..

can anyone please help me in this.. i want to know whether i am eligible to apply for phd..if i am? how will i know whether my topic has good scope in future because i don't want to end up without a job after Dr.
:-(

P

All of us here could go into a lot of details so as to actually guide you "from scratch" literally with this. But before all that, many of us here may be a bit intrigued by the 'reason' for which you 'want to do a phd'.

A PhD is not a waiting room full of comforts, it needs a certain amount of dedication, focus, commitment and a significant amount of planning. And also usually, a reason to do a phd that convinces you yourself. And, somehow, being dissatisfied with the very valid reasons as you state do not seem to be convincing enough a reason to try to take up an intellectual commitment for 4 years.

Others may provide more detailed responses, so hang in there :)

A tip: you could try searching the forum to get an idea of the kind of issues people bring up from their phd journeys, the problems, the joys and above all you shall probably notice a great deal of enthusiasm (and sometimes, if not, very valid reasons for that). That should give you an idea of a PhD.