I can publish! Is it possible to find a remote job?

A

Hi there, I am new here.

Recently I have just got my PhD. I have a very good research track record, including over 10 SSCI-indexed journal articles, which I think is good enough as a new PhD graduate in many countries. However, my background is quite complicated. I have family problems and chronic health problems, along with some other concerns. I want to continue doing research on my interested topics. I can't find a relevant job in my city, but I can't leave my city.

Anyway, my major question is:

Is it possible to find a remote job (e.g., research fellow)? I have a lot of research ideas and I can publish many papers (as demonstrated in my track record). I think this would interest some scholars/departments as publications are important in some universities. But is it possible to find a job like this? I live in country A and work for scholars in country B. I will be perfectly happy with this if it is possible!

Please feel free to let me know if your department is willing to remotely hire me to publish papers in SSCI-indexed journals. I surely know that I have many limitations though.

Thank you!

N

Congrats on finishing the PhD.
it is possible but will be hard. I don't know what field you are in, but from my experiences, they want you on the ground, even with covid.
How are you planning to fund the papers and research? Are you looking for your own grants- if so it might be possible to remote work? If you are looking to use someone else funding to hire you I doubt they will be very happy- but again depends on the field.

In my experience, I worked remotely as I was finishing up in my last role (4 weeks)-but mainly due to it all being computer work and refusing to renew an accomdation contract when I knew Id be leaving.
In my current role, I am allowed to work remote- but an also onsite 75% of the time, but I work in the science.