I quit.

I

So yeah. Here I am after 2 years quitting. I feel like I'm jumping off a bridge, and I have no idea if it's the right thing to do or not, all I know is that I don't want to do it anymore. It's amazing how much you internalize your research and how personal it feels to be the one guy that didn't finish.

I find it helpful to just talk about it with other people, because otherwise I just end up writing endless pros/cons lists in the middle of the night, which is why I'm posting this. I'm depressed, and I think just venting will help.

I'm a PhD student in an interdisciplinary research field (music technology). I had an awesome time for my undergraduate and masters, and essentially became an expert in the topics that I was interested in. I like to do practical things that have artistic or engineering value. I started my PhD while part of a tech consulting startup, which I had to quit on bad terms with my partner because I decided to dedicate my whole time to my PhD, so that says a lot about how enthusiastic I was when I started. I am at what is most likely the most prestigious research group for this topic in the world, and work with a renowned professor as my supervisor. Unfortunately, that's where the good ends and the bad begins.

- continued

I