I would like to quit PHD...Please Help

T

Here is my story. I am currently doing my PhD(2nd semester) in Biomedical Engineering .I already have a masters degree in Mechanical Engineering. I was genuinely interested in doing research. So that was the reason for me joining the PhD program. But of lately I lost the motivation to do any thing in my life, let alone doing research. There have been days where I did not eat for three to four days. I have also put on lot of weight and dark circles started appearing under my eyes. I am generally a very optimistic person. But these days I am very sad almost every moment of my life. But I don't how to approach my advisor who actually is a very good person. I was thinking may be I can study for one more year and get a masters degree in Biomedical engineering instead of quitting midway. I would like to know what u guys think?

S

hi there. I assume you only recently felt like this? I guess it is common for us phd students to feel sad at times, lose motivation etc. Just one day ago I was all confused over statistics. Then today make-up (me and my mascara).

Settling for MSc is a good idea; but maybe you need more time to think and you also need time to recover, to get well. Find someone to talk to, your supervisor, a postgraduate tutor, mentor, someone who can help you decide so you won't feel so alone. Its better to speak honestly with your supervisor; since he is very good, as you said, he should be in the best position to give you advice.

:-) satchi

N

Guess you need to take a short break from your busy schedule to recharge. But the roller coaster mood is quite understandable and not something unusual within the research fraternity.

Cheers!

Nitin Barekere

M

======= Date Modified 06 Mar 2010 07:00:46 =======