Is it OK to leave out "work experience" from CV if all my jobs were unrelated?

S

Hello everyone.

I studied MSc pharmacology.

Now I want to prepare my CV nicely so I can use it to apply to various jobs and maybe to PhD positions.

The thing is that I have no related work experience. I worked a lot in my life, but only in completely unrelated -to pharmacology- jobs. So I don't want to mention these jobs (for example I don't want to say that I used to paint houses). So my question is, would it seem even worse to show no "work experience" at all on my CV?

C

Hello Serious.

Its always tricky when you want to change careers but i would list a few jobs that you have done.. not making too much of it..  but then move swiftly onto the skills you gained that are relevant.. for example, painting houses - team work, conscientiousness, attention to detail,  business acumen (assuming you made a profit) .. there will be valuable skills from all you've done.. you can also add any voluntary work or clubs or societies you're a member of, if relevant. 

In most workplaces showing you can get on with people is everything.

If you've time before you're planning on submitting your CV you could volunteer for something now and be able to add something relevant. 

All the best. Chuff

A