Is it still possible? PhD dreams...

Hello,

I would like some advice/viewpoints. (I am based in the UK) Some background:
I am 34yrs old(35 in Feb), not married, no children. I have a BSc in Biology, however I passed with a low 2.2 (grades were very bad) I have worked steadily in academic research gaining numerous skills, as a research tech, in 2 top UK universities and in clinical research. However I have always wanted to do a PhD (due to family commitments, I could not afford to do a masters) I have applied numerous times (when I was at the first university) but could not get onto a course or even a Masters (when I could finally afford it) This was due to me very low grades (and when I asked my boss at the time if he would be a reference if I went part time, he did everything he could to talk me out of it and also said I was brilliant as a research technician and was basically doing a PhD without the "extra stress". Yes, I was given my own project and it was exactly what I would want to do a PhD in, but he refused to upgrade me to that status and then gave my project to a masters student (who I found out recently they are dating and he is now doing his PhD with him). I eventually left due to lack of funding, but he did do everything he could to keep me on including getting me a temp role with another group in the department whilst he tried to get funding. However the lack of support for my future and also not being included on papers (he has this old school reasoning of 'techs are doing their jobs, so why reward with papers?'.

(Part 2)