Is my supervisor up to something?

M

I've conducted a questionnaire and got lots of data. I'm experienced in qualitative analysis, but I've never done advanced statistical analysis before so I'm unsure how to start. My supervisor is experienced in statistical analysis so I asked for guidance. She said she would do the statistical analysis and give it to me, and that isn't a problem as long as I understand and can defend her results. I said I'd like to do it myself as I want to learn the skills, so she said she would do it and I could watch so I understood. I'm very suspicious - is my supervisor trying to get her name first on the paper about my questionnaire by doing the statistics? It wouldn't be the first time she's put her name first on a paper about my work. Or is she just being helpful? I hate to think ill of her, she's been great in so many other respects but it seems a weird offer. Should I insist on doing it myself? I'm concerned it might affect my future prospects if I have to admit that my PhD research includes statistics that I'm not able to produce myself.

B

I can't guess your supervisors intentions however, if you write the paper and the majority of work is yours, YOUR name should be first. If you need clarification on this then ask another professor (or supervisor) at the university, or some other PhD students.

On the otherhand, from what I have gathered it is fairly normal to include your supervisors name on papers whilst you are a PhD student, though they should have made a contribution.