Is my topic for the research proposal good?

M

Hiiii
I am new to this forum. I have my PhD entrance exam next month.If I clear that I will be called in with my research proposal and this is what I have thought about.

AN ANALYTICAL STUDY OF YOUTUBE ADVERTISING IN INDIA AND ITS IMPACT ON CONSUMER BEHAVIOUR.

I think I will add all the chronicles of YouTube advertising and how Indians fell about it. like through an online questionnaire in my thesis.
I feel I have enough content to write my proposal but I have no one to guide me so I just don't know if this is a good enough topic.
anyone can plzz provide a feedback of what they think about this. or should I reconsider my topic??

any kind of help will be appreciated. thanks :)

A

Hi,

I'll be critical since this is what we do in academia.

1) "Analytical" - what does this mean? It's not really a clear basis for a method. It's too broad and generic, and sounds like an attempt to force across 'it will be rigorous science' without knowing what the rigorous science will actually entail.

2) You name a company specifically. How will you access this company? Will they willingly participate in the research? If you're just going to scrape certain bits of Youtube ad content but not have the full picture of the entirety of youtube advertising in India, how will you ensure your work is representative? This sounds like it would be a good topic if Youtube are onboard (or funding it), but a risky one if not. You won't have capacity to singlehandedly identify and collate every Youtube ad accessible in India, and should not try or claim you can (or base the proposal on the assumption you can) unless there's a link to the company that will provide that capacity.

3) Consumer behaviour is an easy thing to mention but a hard thing to measure. How will you measure this? Often a good research topic / question is firm on both sides - what will be measured (returning to 1, above), and *how* it will be measured.