LaTeX vs Word

C

Hey, sorry if this has been asked before, but could anyone tell me whether they would recommend using LaTeX rather than Microsoft Word to write up their thesis? I heard LaTeX is brilliant to use once you get the hang of it but seeing as I have no programming skills whatsoever, I wonder whether trying to learn LaTeX would be worthwhile or would it just waste my time?

Cheers,
CB

D

My first question would be what is your subject area and, more importantly perhaps, do you use any equations at all? There is no real advantage if you're doing a non-mathematically related PhD to be honest, as it does take quite a while to get to grips with. It looks a lot nicer than Word, certainly. But don't add it as an extra pressure needlessly!

M

Hi Cb , I am still a relative newcomer to Latex but find it is much better than Word. After spending more time messing with formatting trying to get my Lit review done I decided to give Latex a try. I am still learning when it comes to adding graphics, tables equations etc but am getting better the more I use it. It is good to be able to just concentrate on the content not the formatting. Give it a try and see how you get on, I won't be going back to Word ay time soon, except for at work where I don't have a choice.
Good luck
Max

C

Hey, thanks for the helpful replies. I'm in engineering so essentially, I would have graphs and equations.

D

In which case I would go for it if you have the time (and a LOT of patience!) to learn it. Most of it is fairly straightforward but it does have some odd nuances, like trying to get your graphs in the right place :-s

I speak with a lot of frustration and experience!

M

Definately go for LaTeX, when you get into equations it's worth learning it just for that. It will give you prefessional consistent typesetting in a way that word simply can't. Try some basic tutorials and see what you think. Lets us know how you get on!