Leave PhD for job?

R

Hi there,
I feel like I need some independent advice on my situation. I have been doing my PhD for a little over six months. It's in a subject I had an interest in at the start, however lately I've started to feel uninterested and directionless. This coupled with the fact that I don't seem to work well without structure has led to me spending little or no time on my work. I also now feel like there's no way I want to be an academic, and so I'm starting to question why I'm doing this.

R

On top of this I have recently applied for a job as a software developer, just because it seemed like a good opportunity. They liked my CV and sent me an aptitude test, which were some programming tasks. I've spent the last week working on these problems much harder than I've ever worked on my PhD. Just waiting to see if I get an interview now.

So basically now I'm in limbo. If I get the job, I'm dreading leaving my PhD, because I like my supervisor and other members of the group. But at the same time I really feel like its not right for me. If I don't get it, I don't know whether to just look for other jobs, or carry on or what!!

Any advice would be appreciated. Also, anyone know about the process of leaving ie: how much notice you have to give etc...

Thanks,

Ryan

F

Hi. Its so hard leaving a PhD, and I am considering my options now. However a PhD is not an easy path to tread and if you are struggling now, might be worth thinking long and hard how you're gonna feel in 2 years time if you stay..

Be great to hear how you get on....

R

Hi Ryan