Loneliness of the long-distance researcher

Z

Feel slightly pathetic writing this! I'm studying at a distance from my uni and working as well so hardly go to the uni at all. Have plenty of non-uni friends but don't really know anyone else doing a Phd so when studying feel a bit out of the loop and well a little lonely. Can anyone relate to this and did you take any practical steps to improve situation? Enjoying the work but feel am missing out on social side of being a student again. Thanks goodness for this forum! :)

E

I am studying at a distance from my uni (different country) and I am working FT....
I don't feel lonely and I don't miss anything from being a student (I had a fair share of student life!!!! I think 5 years were enough!!! )
I have my friends, who, although they don't have PhDs, can understand me. They know (probably from my mum) when I need to go out, what I need to be alone and they respect this.
This is my third year of studies and I owe a lot to my friends!
I also have my parents! A mum who understands completely what I am going through (she had to leave a PhD several years ago due to personal reasons) and tries to help me the best way she can. And a dad who, although does not know anything about my subject, is so proud of me and cares a lot about my well-being and my sanity!!!!

I really owe a lot to so many people!!!!!!!

Z

Hey, sounds like you've got it sorted! :) I would like to be more part of a research community to be inspired and challenged even more but like you I am enjoying my work (up)

B