Looking for a PhD post abroad

V

Dear forum,

I am a current research student (MRes) specializing in sport psychology. I aim to apply for a PhD at my current institution (of which I am assured a place) however I would like to, if possible, broaden my horizons and so I have also applied to others across the UK. Further, I wish to explore the possibility of studying abroad (preferable N. America). However, I don't really know where to start with this. Do I email prospective tutors directly? Is there some sort of preliminary process I need to go through before I should even begin to email? Are prospective institutions generally open to international students?

Any advice of how to approach this from those with experience in this area would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

P

======= Date Modified 01 Apr 2009 20:43:23 =======
Hi