Looking for accommodation in London!

A

Hello,

I'm a Biology PhD student starting at Barts and the London in October 2011. I was wondering if anyone can share their experiences with looking for accommodation in London. Also, is there anyone also looking for accommodation in London who would be happy to team up with me to look for a flat-share? Inbox me!

A

Hi Alleycat,

I spent a year in London doing a research MA and are now back for another three months to work on my PhD (the rest of the project is done in another country). The MA year I spent at Claredale House (easily found via google), which was good in terms of comfort and cost, though the area was at the time not the best - but this is five years ago, so it might have improved meanwhile. What was nice was that they put people together who were in the same situation and had the same preferences, so I was sharing a flat with three other post-grad non-smoking females, without having to look for flatmates myself.

Right now I am staying at a sort of B&B which I guess is only feasible for a short period, although this one's extremely cheap and nice (found it through AirBNB, which is linked to Facebook). You could always use something like that to get started. Where I am staying now there are a lot of people who spend a couple of weeks there while checking out more permanent places to stay.