Making the best use of Time

H

Hi.
I am new. Very new. I start my PhD tomorrow and it would be fair to say I am totally bricking it! :p
I would have started in September '10 but a few weeks after accepting my phd offer i found out I was pregnant and the uni let me defer until January. I cannot afford (and nor do I want) F/T Childcare for my baby and so will have 3 days a week to work on my PhD to begin with, then increase gradually so that by my last year I intend to have that up to 5 days a week. And I will also have ad hoc c/care for when i am needed on campus - I would really like to get some demonstrating practice and also get involved in possible research opportunities.

I should add that I am now mid 30s having worked in industry for 11 years in the same field I am now doing research in, i did an MSc vis distance learning while working FT which was awarded an RGS prize and got a Distinction so I am pretty determined but having spent 8 months in a land of nappies and sleep deprivation I'm a bit concerned I've bitten off too much.

So. Am I mad? Is this unrealistic?

I also want to hit the ground running, have ordered my copy of 'how to get a phd', but would be very grateful for any tips to get myself working efficiantly right from the beginning. It is a sciencebased PhD but not lab based so I can work from home in the evenings as well.

Many thanks :-)

B