need to decide!!

L

Hi!
I am new to this forum, but really happy to find it. The reason is that I have arrived at such a point in my life that its now or never for me.
I am a postgrad in microbiol, & was intending to pursue my Ph.d. However, there were certain inevitable circumstances that didn't allow me to leave the state I am living in. So I started working in research and dev sector in a biotech firm.
I have been an average student, and have faired pretty well in my profession as well. I never took a break after my postgrad,and am still working. I am 27 years old now having worked for ard 5 years.
Things are better now personally and there is nothing stopping me from moving out of my state/country (unlike my previous situation). However, now I am in dilemma if I should leave my job for a phd or not? Also, after this 5 yrs break, do I stand good chance of getting a phd? Can my age be a concern?

I wud like to have an honest opinion.I am also assessing my situation at my end. Your inputs would be of great help.

S

I think your age is no probalem at all, especially as you have continued to gain experience in a relevant area. I suppose the big question is whether it will be worth the effort - will it enable you to do something, professionally, that you want, that you can't do otherwise (and that will make the studying and drop in income worthwhile).

C

I started my PhD in October aged 26 (27 now) I worked for 4 years post uni too.I'm glad I had a break rather than going straight on with studying and it helps that a started in a financially secure position rather than scraping the bottom of my overdraft (which is where I'd be if I hadn't worked first. I like to think I'm older and wiser but I don't think I am really!

H

Hell, I started my PhD at the age of 29, after 5 years with the NHS. Age is no limit, probably a bonus. Ask yourself WHY you want three years of cynical insomnia, that would be the real question!

B