Office space - what is it like in your dept?

S

What are the arrangements for office/desk space like in your department? Do you share a room and if so with how many? I share with two other PGs at the moment but will soon be sharing an open plan room with 18 other PGs. I wanted to check what position others are in before I start complaining! We are always told that we're lucky to have any office space because PGs at other universities don't have any. (I won't mention which university I'm studying at).

J

i share with loads of others - about 10. the problem with our office is the space. to many ancient computers occupying all the deskspace so it looks more like a store room than an office. no one really works there. about three people come in each day. i often work from home as i have more space here. and with 10 people in a small space, it is not easy to concentrate.

J

There is a designated postgrad space: it started as a large room where everyone had their own desk; then it became a smaller room, where everyone had their own desk. Now it's an even smaller room with a hotdesk setup.

I find it too distracting, so I use an old desk in my lab. It's not too comfortable but at least it's quiet.

A

I had a space in an open plan office shared with 30 students. It wasnt practical, not least because a lot of my research was telephone interviews, but even without that I found it very hard to concentrate. People did manage to work there - there was a stric rule of silence and most people wore headphones too. Third years got moved, supposedly a demotion because it was a portacabin 15 mins from the department, but it's actually an improvement because there are only 6 people per office. However, by then I'd already got into a routine of working at home.