one of few women in business phd---having a hard time

S

hi...i'm having a hard time in my business phd program---i feel like there's always this underlying current that i'm not as good as the other students there (and yes, i was told that some of my analytical skills were horrible because of low gmat quant scores)---my background is from the behavioral sciences, not global corp business...a professor i have treats me like i'm not there...i'm thinking about transferring....do you have advice?

R

Are you being discriminated against because you're a woman or your academic performance?

Can't really give you any advice about your predicament though. Some people thrive on overcoming serious pressure, tackling the bull by the horns so to speak. On the other hand, I can understand if you've been placed under undue prejudice and duress. If that's the case it's quite understandable to walk out and find a better environment to do your postgrad studies.

But I suspect that you will probably come across the same kind of prejudice and pressure in the real business environment out there, it's still a male-dominated scene in the business world irrespective of what people say about women making more of an impact these days. But if you're doing PhD studies I assume you've already had experience in the business world and probably already know that?

R

Just another observation - there are also notoriously few women doing engineering, much less a PhD in engineering. But there are a few women there.

The difference between engineering and business is that the presence of women is much more appreciated in engineering than in business. I get the impression the guys tend to be more arrogant in business.

Q

It could be that you are a woman, but then again it could be due to your academic performance.