Only 3 months left - massive bust up with supervisor

L

Hi all

I'm in the last 3 months of my lab based science PhD. To cut a long story short, I stood up to my supervisor when he was trying to do something (work related!) that I think even he knew was wrong and he didn't like it one bit. Since the incident he has been telling lies and generally being nasty about me to others in the department behind my back. I know this because many of them are my friends so obviously they told me about it. For instance, he told one of the other PhD students that he thinks I am a terrible research student and told the student to pass the message on to me. He has also sent me a string of quite aggressive emails but when I see him in person he won't even look at me or acknowledge me. I feel like I have gone back in time to school.

Prior to this I would describe our relationship as so-so as he is no longer interested in my area of research and is trying to move the lab's work to another, more lucrative, area of research.

Word has got around the department what has happened between my supervisor and I and thankfully everyone is on my side as they know what he is like. That doesn't stop this being very stressful.

In addition I am 5 months pregnant, which is making me easily upset and probably less able to just brush off this nastiness. I also still have LOADS of lab work to do before I leave. I must say though that this whole situation has left me very demotivated and tired.

I just don't know what to do. Should I make a formal complaint or am I just making a mountain out of a molehill? A friend (another student) suggested changing my primary supervisor but my second supervisor is just a supervisor on paper and has no idea what I'm doing. With the end so near I worry that any change would disrupt my PhD to my detriment and may cause me to fail.

What do you guys think?

E

Littlekick,

That sounds like an awful place to be in.