Part time and funding - advice needed

A

Hi,

I'm after some advice please...

I'm seriously considering doing a phd in Education next year. I work full time as a social sciences secondary teacher and I'm currently in my final year doing a Master's in Education Studies part-time. I've really been inspired and engaged with re-entering HE after an 11 year period. I've been getting all distinctions for my assignments, ranging from 78-95%. My average is 84%.I've enjoyed working independently and to be honest, I know that even if I didn't attend the weekend sessions we sometimes have, I'd still understand a lot of the content.

I'm not prepared to give up my full-time job for financial reasons so I'm thinking about doing a phd in education part time and possibly distance learning/ online. I have the following questions...

1. What is the difference between part tine distance learning / online courses and just part time phd? I don't want to be campus based? If I chose a uni that offers the part time phd would I constantly have to visit? I won't be able to enroll at nearby universities because there are not many that offer the PhD part-time and also I'm finding that are differences in terms of fees.

2. I want to apply for funding and I'm particularly interested in studying education and disability but not sure if I would be likely to get funding since I have full time employment. Any thoughts? Not even sure how this process works?

3. If I chose to do the EdD instead of the PhD I think it is unlikely that I would get funding for the former? Is that correct? Having done some research it seems funding is likely to be given to candidates who produce new research, ie PhD thesis.