Part-time and living overseas

V

Hi,
As the title suggests I am p/t PhD student, living in a different country to the Uni and sup. I am working with. It is hard going (esp with working f/t and family etc) but the hardest part is probably the not having anyone to moan to/run things by I think. A few of my friends and colleagues are good but it would be great to have other PhD students to talk to I feel.

I am in my 3rd year of Psych PhD and was just wondering if anyone else is doing this part-time or overseas and how they are coping with it all.

Thanks

T

Hi - I am full time but never really manage to do full time hours as family and kids tend to get in the way! I am also overseas so I can sympathise - I really miss not being on campus and it can get a bit lonely!

E

Hi!
I am a PT PhD student, from oversees, also working FT....
I am in my fourth and (hopefully) final year...

I manage OK so far (I think). It needs a lot of programming and you have to stick to your programme...........

======= Date Modified 26 Oct 2011 21:23:50 =======
I am a few weeks into part-time PhD, but not in another country. However, when I did my Masters I was in another state (Australia) to my university and supervisor and in the Australia the distances are so great, it might as well be another country (distance wise that is). I completed everything for that thesis by distance while working full-time, and it was hard.

I found I could talk a little to my grown children (two of whom were still at home) but only to point because I'd bore them and I really couldn't talk much at all to most colleagues, who asked after it politely but didn't really understand what it involved. So at times, when I was worried about something or upset or just needed a sounding board, I had to either use this forum or talk myself through it. (The supervisor was very busy and hard to contact at times).