Part-time PhD

L

I'm currently working on my MSc dissertation (part-time, distance learning) and I'm applying to undertake a PhD on the same basis.

I'm wondering what I could be letting myself in for! Any tips or advice appreciated (especially as I've returned to academia while working full-time (for many years)?.

W

Hi LBaines, congratulations on deciding to do a PhD. I can't really comment or give advice on doing a PhD part-time. However, there have been quite a few posts over the past few months about this and I'm aware that some people who use this forum are doing a part-time PhD. It might be worth doing a search of the past forum threads to see what you can find out. Good luck.

B

I completed my Masters and PhD part-time. I wasn't working, but I was (and am) very seriously ill, with only about 5 good hours total throughout a week I could use for study. So very limited!

I was lucky that I'd studied my arts Bachelors degree with the Open University, so was already used to independent learning. You'll be picking up the same skills in your Masters, and these will stand you in good stead for your PhD which will also be part-time.

I think the biggest problem I found was isolation. So much of student support at my university was based around students who were on campus, whereas I was at home, and could only go in very rarely. For most of the time this was ok, but when I hit real lows it was difficult to put problems in perspective and I often wished I could chat to someone. I had a good friend (also part-time) who met me for coffee, and we'd email a lot. And this forum was a life-saver.

I also think you have to be really disciplined to put in the work week after week. Unless you are for example a school teacher with an extended summer break you need to work on the PhD steadily, week after week after week. Different working patterns suit different people, but you will need to find what works for you. And the PhD will be more time-consuming than the Masters.