PhD and/or PGCE

L

I am wondering if anyone has done a PGCE and a PhD
either they attempted both (probably not at the same time) and did not finish one, or did one and then the other (i.e which one you did first?)

I have interests into both and wondering what people think of the subject?

T

Well I suppose it depends what you want to do.. If you want to go into teaching kids then a PGCE is essential. I would imagine it would be very hard to do a PGCE and a PhD at the same time unless you did a part time PhD and a flexi-PGCE (which takes 2 years rather than 1 year). As for doing one then the other.. I don't think there is a correct order to do them it would boil down to personal preference and which was more important to you.

B

I did a PGCE when I graduated from my BA. It took a year & there is a bursary to help cover costs (between 6,000 and 9,000 depending on level and subject). After that, I taught for two years. It was only at this point that I went back to university to do higher study ( Master's and now PhD). I think having time out in the "real" world helped me in a number of ways, Mainly : it has made me a lot more balanced about doing a PhD, and more secure in terms of knowing that I can always earn money; also, I learnt some amazing (invaluable) people skills and work habits.

You don't really explain why you want to do a PhD -- do you actually want to be a teacher or is it just for the experience of doing something different before you plunge back into the madness of academia My advice would be that, if you want a career as a teacher, do the PhD then a PGCE, but if you want a career as an academic do the PGCE first.

A

We've been here before, in case anyone wants to check out previous replies on this topic
http://www.postgraduateforum.com/showmessage.asp?thread=5111&cat=3&keyword=phd%20pgce&newview=1&stype=TM&category=0

G