PhD at 21

K

Hi Guys,

I'm new around these parts so firstly, hello! I can't tell you how much reading all your posts has helped me in the past few days.
This is related to something I wrote in reply to Beave's thread the other day. I graduated this summer from uni and went straight into a PhD in October. Is anybody else in the same boat? I'm finding it so hard ignore the little demons in my head that say I'm not ready (even though I desperately want to do this), especially when I get the usual 'you're HOW old?!' from people in my department. :-s
Just wondering if there were other people who have experienced this and how they have got on?

Cheers folks

A

Hi,

I was 22 when I started mine so I did do an MSc first (if I remember correctly you didn't) but I look about 14/15.  No lie. It used to bother me when people commented on how young I looked.  Now, not so much. On the days when I'm meeting elites (people in positions of power) I dress formally etc to make me feel better.  Not suits but smart trousers and dresses etc. You could try this.

Don't let anyone make you feel that you're not ready for this.  Especially yourself! I am sick and tired of hearing people go on and on about how they really don't think people are mature enough in their very early twenties to be doing a PhD.  Just because it wasn't the right decision for them doesn't mean it's not the right decision for you. In fact both of my parents did their Further AND Higher education as mature students and I was old enough to remember them doing it.  I was strongly advised by them that if I wanted to do a PhD then now is the best time. Yes there are advantages to having spent years in "proper employment" but similarly, there are advantages to being a youngster.

Finally - you got into a PhD at 21.  That is an amazing accomplishment. You should be so very, very proud of yourself.

Congratulations.

A

S