PhD blog about PhD topics and being a mum

D

Hello all!
Just a cheeky post to put my blog out there. I'm new to this so trying to say hello. The blog is my experience as a mum and as a PhD student. It represents my own views only.

T

Looks interesting! Here is my (sadly neglected) blog that I might start posting on again some day! There are some posts about studying with children too.

D

Fantastic! Its great to read about the expeirence of other mums out there doing a PhD. Thank you for sharing yours :)

B

Heya, thanks for sharing these blogs. I am pregnant and still completing my PhD. I'm in my third year at a London uni. I will take a break for the early months and return afterwards. I'm wondering how many other PhD mums / dads there are out there who would like the idea of writing together whilst our young babies play, so like a writing creche. I have tweeted about this, just an idea, to get both PhD mums and their babies interacting. Big support to everyone on this journey!

H

Is it your 1st baby Britt? I can't imagine any babies playing together whilst the parents write, until they are about 3 years old, they don't normally let you do anything whilst you attempt to even send an email!

D

Hi Britt. Firstly, congratulations!

I too am in my final year. I agree with the comment above - time is a precious commodity with a baby. You can get a lot done in the newborn phase, but once they become mobile, forget it! a support network of people in the same position is always helpful though - and it can be a fluid thing, if the creche/writing session works, why not!

I was made to feel like i was the only person on the planet who would consider a baby and a PhD simultaneously. So its great to know others are out there.

D