PhD completed but paper rejected

S

I wasn't sure of the best place to raise this, but here seemed as good as any even if I don't now technically fit into the target audience!

I completed my PhD at the start of the year, successfully defended and I've even now graduated - simply put, it's over. But I submitted a spin-out paper to the top journal in my field, which after the review process was rejected. Now rejection is not altogether uncommon, but what's bugging me is that the comments made suggestions that I can't help but feel should have been in my thesis in the first place - in other words, if this reviewer had been my external examiner, I might well have ended up with major corrections.

Am I over-thinking things? Am I wrong to essentially be doubting the validity of my PhD because it could perhaps have been better? Are top (we're talking 4*) journal standards higher than PhD viva standards?

I sense this is very much "first world problems", in that I'm through the process and out the other end as Dr spiderpig. But any thoughts are most welcome!

B

The standards of top journals are much higher than PhD ones. If they were not, why would many people with PhDs never actually get an article accepted in a top journal but enjoy perfectly adequate academic careers? Don't fret about it, just take on board any reviewers' comments, revise and submit to an appropriate second tier journal. No-one's PhD thesis is perfect - yours was good enough! And maybe this reviewer has given you a point that you can build on in the revised article.