PhD embarrassment

W

Getting asked what you do....
I'm doing a degree in.... " Oh wow amazing, are you, tell me more". Smiles and looks vaguely interested.
I'm doing a masters in..."oh what's that then, what will it ht you? Smiles
I'm doing a PhD..."oh" gives you a weird look.

I'm starting to think when people ask what I do I'll stop being specific and say student as it's just embarrassing! What do you say when asked what you do?

P

I get that a lot or people say 'so when are you finishing University' particularly from my boyfriend's parents. I've mainly given up and embraced it so I tell everyone I'm going to be at University forever because I never want a real job.

M

I think that most people are genuinely surprised when someone tells them that they do a PhD. Don't forget that not many people dare doing so...

Yet, I have to admit that many of us who do PhDs, well...we are a bit 'weird'. Big Bang Theory weird... ('the nice way). Yes, I also tell people that a PhD is for life (especially we carry on working on our research post-PhD).

W

Yes Charlie, it's eternal student syndrome :D.

Marasp I'm big bang but more Penny than the rest ha ha ha. I think with me it's that imposter thing where I take those "oh's" as "oh so you think you're clever?" or "oh you must be really clever, we can no longer have normal conversations as you can't be normal!". I feel self conscious about it, that saying I'm doing a PhD is bragging, like wow look at brainy me, when actually, I'm Penny.

K

I love your response, wowzers. I’m more of a Penny as well :-)

I recently started a job and was introduced to everyone as a PhD student and it did no favours - initially my colleagues thought that I thought I was cleverer than them, and now that they’ve realised I’m not I think they feel superior, haha (“she didn’t even know the answer to x!”).