PhD English - Write a Novel....

L

Greetings all

I hope this is not too off the wall....
I would greatly appreciate any feedback - but if it is off the wall
Feel free to shoot me down :(

I have a 2.1 Masters in International Politics.
However my background is several years living all over the world working in an industry that gave me
* significant direct contact with many celebs - Oprah, Eddie Murphy, Liam Neeson, Politicians, A list Business persons.
* it is also an industry where one is exposed to several vices - you name it

Thinking along the lines of a better packaged "Hotel Babylon" but a more subtle message,
Could I develop a novel as a PhD thesis?

Would a serious academic buy in to such a project.

I have the bones of a structure, chapters everything.
But I want to work on the complexity of its message and in addition market the concept appropriately.
In addition, I dont want this to fall into the category a hedonistic smut peddle or indeed a plastic celeb bio.

Am I insane?
Or if I structured the Project design appropriately, could I win the buy in of a serious Literature Academic

Any thoughts, productive or acerbic are equally welcome

B

I have heard of PhD students in creative writing producing a novel as their thesis, or at least a significant part of it - normally the creative writing part would be accompanied by an appropriate analysis. But generally such students would be expected to have an academic background in the field, including a relevant taught Masters. Try googling for "phd creative writing uk".

H

Here in Australia, I know that you can do a 'novel' PhD. The catch is, you write both the novel and a thesis explaining your rationale and the critical theory behind it and with which you've sought to engage. I believe the novel and thesis are usually roughly the same length? But I'm not sure of that. If you look up Monash University in Melbourne, I believe they have that kind of program.