PhD Interview: Birmingham University

C

Dear All,

I applied for a PhD studentship at Birmingham University and have been invited to attend an interview in a weeks time. The invitation letter says that there will a lunch before the interview so that all the candidates can meet. This will be followed by a 30 miniute interview. I will also be expected to "converse" with someone in a South asian language as this is the area that the PhD will be exploring. The day will end with a tour of the school.

I've never done an academic interview before, so I'm a little in the dark about what to expect. How do PhD interviews work in general? Are they formal or informal? Are you quized on your knowledge, or asked softer questions about intentions, goals, etc.? Or both? Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks

S

you better watch out how you act, what you say and how you eat during the lunch beforehand too - it would be a mistake to assume they're not watching you then as well. don't want to freak you, just point something out

J

I agree with Frau Swantje. And make sure you don't appear to talk or act to informally. Lunch is part of the interview and observation process. Don't get to friendly or chitty chatty with any of the other candidates. They remain your direct competitors. Don't appear nervous either. Be cool, calm, confident and not sweaty.

C

Good luck!