Phd studentship Telephone Interview

B

I had applied for phd studentship in management accounting in a Uk university and I have been invited for 30 min. telephone interview. i had previusly discussed my prop with the prof heading the research. he was interested in my project. the only setback is that my background is not in accounting but hospitality. but my publications and msc. thesis are on performance measurement in hospitality industry. I do teach at a public university in my country. what are some of the questions to expect for a Phd studentship? will they ask me about the UK general information abt UK like which one if any. will there be an aptitude test on the phone? please kindly help me out.

T

======= Date Modified 03 Feb 2010 15:12:32 =======
Bwad, I don't think they'd quiz you on the UK in general (unless it was aspects of the UK you plan to study) and I would doubt they'd perform any formal test over the phone, especially if you only have 30 minutes.
From my own experience, questions vary but tend to include;
Your proposal, how it would work, why it matters, logic behind the methodology and how your previous experience would contribute.
You may be asked how you've dealt with work or research situations in the past; dealing with conflict, prioritising workload and so on. General questions about the field you're going into are always fair game.
Have an idea about why you want to work with this department specifically (their past research, the professor's publications, etc) and what your own aspirations are for a research career.

Good luck!

B

tweek thanks what the best anwer to why you want to do a phd?

S

hi Bwad!
dont worry if you dont have a background in accounting; this issue will eventually be resolved during your phd!
the questions to expect:
1. why do u want to do this phd
2. can u explain where this proposed project will lead to