PhD terminated after my 1st year Viva!

O

Hi all, I seem to be in a sticky wicket at the moment. I have an ongoing dispute with my Dept. and have my PhD (Chemistry) terminated. The fact is that I had an abusive and incompetent supervisor who is the root cause of these problems,
Can anyone give me any advice on what implications this will have on getting another PhD. I can get references from my old Uni where i did my undergraduate degree, but should I just explaint exactly what happened? Maybe it wont be so hard to get another PhD?

O

So I am screwed then? Should I just become a cleaner then, or work in a box factory?

Erm...I guess I'm just being negative.

O

I was thinking of taking the opposite approach and just bringing all the issues out in the open and telling any prospective supervisor that is interviewing me what the situation is. In this way it also lets me know if they are worthwhile having.

Or, I could work for a year or so, get some good references behind me and then reapply?

What do ya'll think?

O

What about filling in the gaps...i.e. the year I have spent?

Am I being too negative about this whole thing?

O

Thanks for your advice. I guess I am being too negative.

The fact is that I believe I am a very competent student.

My supervisor was simply the bossy type who didn't appreciate that I am very independent. I think this made my supervisor feel inadequate about things.

Maybe I need a supervisor who wants to support rather than control?

J

MistaG

You have given some VERY sound advice. I think the forum user is a little shell shocked and angry in regard to her/his situation. You are right he/she shuld take some time and reflect on what went wrong.

In my mind this individual had a lucky escape as they would have had to spend another 2 years with the horrible supervisor. Doing a PhD is STRESSFUL enough without having a supervisor who doesn't give a "Castlemane XXXX"!!!.

O

Thanks for all your replies.