PhD Third years, a call to arms.

L

To my fellow third years, I have posted a call to arms, well not necessarily arms but shall we say keyboards? (I suppose our writing tools are our supposed swords no? Anyway, I digress.)

Im in third year and submitting in Sept. Im also highly stressed, (big shout out to my fellow highly stressed people) I thought being that Im an absolutely dreadful procrastinator and I have nine months left now is the time to bring us all together. You see Im woeful at the moment and I keep having to yank myself out of fear based stupors (you know staring at the computer with a confused look on your face, realising you have spent most of the day trying to work out what a certain button on your microsoft word actually does)

Im only aware of some lovely students in a different part of the faculty who pat me on the back and say 'dont worry you can write a thesis in 6 months' But to be honest I don't want to I'd like to produce something really really good, I know that can't be done haphazardly. I just feel at the minute the fear is getting in the way and I would like to actually get some communitas with other years, not just the uber relaxed in my department, or the ones who lie through their teeth. I know by this stage we are all meant to be very very busy and shouldnt be meandering around the internet but would anyone like to share how they are getting on, or any current bugs they are having.

General annoyances, procrastination attempts and motivational words are always welcome. Lets do this thing!

B

Hi Liminalp.