PhD Viva Panic ... Thesis full of mistake and its so disappointing

N

I have my PhD viva in a couple of weeks and have started preparing for it by reading through my thesis. I thought I had done a very good job with spotting all the typos and mishaps prior to submission but evidently, I was wrong. There are mistakes in literally every single page and they range from missing words, typos, missed commas, inconsistencies between the text and figure legends. I know I can't do anything about it now, but I really needed to rant about this where people understand what this feels like. I just feel so disappointed and honestly very embarrassed to have handed in such a rubbishy, careless piece of work. I just don't want to face the fact that I might get major corrections while I was really hoping for minor. I feel like such a looser if I get major corrections, I feel guilty for not having spotted things before submission ( I was severely sleep deprived), but still... URGHHH !!!!

K

You are where you are as they say ! The first thing I would say is challenge the way you are thinking about this. You were exhausted by the point of submitting and that is why you didn't spot the typos. If you can spot them now they can be easily rectified. Major revisions is a pass that requires some changes to be made. That is a major positive result in my book. If those changes relate to presentation rather than content all the better. Be proud that you reached submission and embrace any changes that need to be made. You are definitely not a loser. This is the final hurdle. Stay strong.

K

Quote From Nazanin21: