PhD vs Experience

S

I'm currently a first class engineering student who being offered to further my studies in one of the local M'sia university. There is also grant provided so I won't have to get any sponsor for the materials, plus a scholarship.

Also, there are few MNC company offering me a position in their company, of course I still haven't reply them.

I have no interest in being a lecturer or joining the education line whatsoever. The lecturers told me that getting a PhD in 3 years will secure you a job as an Senior Engineer when you join some MNC company with higher salary. Frankly speaking, the salary is what attract me the most, aside from my interest though.

So my question is whether to take the PhD or work first?

Please advise. :-(

J

======= Date Modified 19 Jun 2011 11:42:35 =======
Hi ShrugsLova,

IMO, I would take the industry job. You say that you have no interest in being in education, and the reason why the PhD is attractive to you is the salary after 3, 4, or 5 years in the program. If you have no interest, then maybe it may not be very enjoyble for you to do. Who knows, you might end up liking it. But if your interest is not there, chances are you wouldn't.

I think if you start at the junior level, you would be able to become a senior engineer after 3,4,5 years of experience. I don't know how long exactly. With 5-7 years of experience, you may be a middle-level manager. More than that you can move up higher. I guess it depends on you and the company. But the point is the entry/junior level job will just as well lead to your career objective. Having the company-specific and industry-specific experience would be an advantage.