PhD without an MA

A

Hi,

I have a place on an MA starting this Oct and am in the process of finding out the results of funding etc. In the process of applying for funding i was encouraged to apply for various PhD funding awards starting this Oct too. Although I wasn't successful in getting PhD funding for this year, I am on the reserves list for several of these scholarships.

If i were to be offered either of these scholarships (fees and living exp) I would be going straight to PhD from BA. Does anyone have any experience of this? I am a mature student who has been in employment, then continued to work whilst studying FT at Undergrad. I got a first in my degree.

My main concern would be missing out on MA research training which would surely help for PhD research?

Thanks

J

Hey there

I did an MA and then the PhD and I have found it much easier to slip into than my colleague, who is a mature student and very bright but came straight from his bachelors. He hadn't heard of or had to grasp certain concepts that we all could take for granted and had a lot of reading to catch up on. His analytical skills were a bit lacking too. However, he is doing just fine and really enjoying his course! Maybe if you went straight to PhD you could ask your sup what kind of reading you may have to do to catch up over the summer? Generally though I think it is relative - do you feel up to the job? If so, go for it!

B

Your supervisor might well insist on / or advise you to take certain of the research training courses anyway. That's certainly what happens to people without a research training MA at my university anyway. I'm sure you could ask even if it wasn't their policy.

S