Post PhD life

D

Hello all. So I have about another year or so left of this old PhD malarky. Even at this early stage, I am thinking about life post PhD.

I just wondered what people who are near completion (or have completed already) have planned(did)? Are you looking for a post doc position? Where do you look for those? If you have left academia, where did you go? How did you decide? I am doing a PhD in the area of Psychology so I am particularly interested to know what people with a similar PhD have done. I was considering a post doc within my current department but its highly unlikely to be an option now.

Thank you :)

K

Hi Drmumphd,
For my experience, please have a look at my previous post. Love Kim

D

Oh my, KimWipes. How have you stayed sane and calm?!

T

Realistically I am going to carry on doing exactly the same job I am doing now (EFL teacher at a university). It is a good job but I would have liked to try for an academic career. The problem is that where I am there is not really a lot of chance of that happening and with three young children, I am not willing to move far from home at the moment. (Only just managed to leave a job with a long commute and it was awful). TBH I will just be glad to finish that at the moment, I really don't care if I never do anything academic ever again!! (Hopefully that feeling will pass though!)

T

I found my postdoc on jobs.ac.uk. I would like to stay in academia but I can't because I'm not prepared to travel round forever so I'm currently looking for an administration job in a university.

C

I'm not up for re-locating and chasing short-term contracts either, so it's unlikely I will stay in academia, although I will have a look at what's available. It does seem that with the current trend of offering insecure, short-term work, academia is restricting its pool of applicants somewhat!

H