Postdoc extension for doing nothing

K

Hi all,

I am finishing my first postdoc with the same prof that I did my PhD. The idea of post-doc was to allow me to beef up my publication record which is gone smoothly and I am publishing my results. This may sound great but during the last 2 years ( thesis write-up + postdoc) I have not done any new research and I am already getting frustrated with my situation.

Another source of frustration is that the prof is on sabbatical and she has left the lab to an associate part-timer whom works in a 9-5 industry job and only shows up for few random hours per week. We do not have a similar background (her PhD in a different field but has 3 years more seniority to me!). Every time she shows up, she tries to micromanage me and asks me to do the basic things for her (i.e. finding journal articles, reading them for her and suggest a summary,or doing basic calculation etc).

Now, the prof wants me to stay for 1-2 years longer if the funding becomes available but when I look at the situation:

1) she is on sabbatical leave for at least another 1.5 year and cannot provide guidance or real help when it is needed
2) no project has been defined
3) the lab is in a bad shape as she does not buy new parts, equipment or supplies
4) I still will work under the annoying associate partner which I do not find knowledgeable
5) the prof always pays the minimum possible salary
6) I started my PhD almost 10 years later than average students and I have no time left to waste and need to be honest with myself if staying longer in academia is a good thing for me and my family

I feel that I am wasting a lot of valuable time for doing nothing but I do not want to get no or bad references from them. What should I do? Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

W