Quit or change supervisor?

T

Hi all

I am having some real concerns about my PhD at the moment, I have been studying for two years now (Part-time) and submitted a proposal for registration 14 months ago (which was finally sent to the postgraduate research student administrator three weeks ago by our head of research. Anyway I have in this time had maybe two meetings with my supervisor, with no goals set for me. A colleague of mine has recently started his PhD and meets with his supervisor every month and comes back with various goals and targets to achieve before the next meeting. At the moment I am feeling really disgruntled and de-motivated due to added difficulties of being diagnosed dyslexic into the bargain. I am at the moment considering either quitting or contacting my colleague's supervisor to see if he would accept me as a research student and ditching my current university and supervisor team.

I just need a bit of advice really - what would you recommend I do?

P

Hello

Just to give you an idea- I'm finishing off my PhD (I'm a full time PhD student) and I'm rather shocked by your lack of supervison!