Quitting PhD. A good idea?

J

I have posted a message before. Just some more advice needed, I'm doing a Phd in art history at the courtauld. I have got funding to do it, but I am not enjoying it, I think mainly because I can't see what I want to do at the end of it. I don't think my Phd will be 'brilliant' enough to get an academic job, and I don't really want one anyway. The other career option, of working in the museum,/gallery sector also doesn't appeal. I already have a totally unrelated part time job working for an NGO. My Phd is making me unhappy and I'm worried I will leave and just be in a really bad position in the job market. I'm thinking about leaving and entering the real world. What does anyone think.

R

leaving your PhD shouldn't harm your future career prospects unless the job you want requires one.

I thought leaving my PhD would leave a big gaping hole in my CV and would damage my future career prospects but it hasn't at all. I've applied for other PhDs and Masters and the fact that I dropped out of a PhD made no difference as I have been offered a PhD position and place on two masters courses since then.

I suppose how exactly dropping out of a PhD will influence your future career will depend on the manner in which you leave. It is important that you can get a reference from someone who understands and respects your resasons for leaving and who will support your applications for future courses/Jobs.

J

You sound like your decision has been made. So don't ask for advice, just go for it and quit. Everything else would be an uphill struggle, not because of the hard PhD process but because you don't have any goal at the end as you're not interested in academic or museum career. Quit, get out and enjoy the sunshine. Just don't forget about the poor souls which did not have the guts to make this decision when the time was right - like myself two years ago.

O