Referencing with LaTeX

After much thinking, I've decided that, after my transfer (or upgrade, if you like) in September, which will be 12 months' in, I'm going to switch from Word to LaTeX. I've already installed TeXniccentre and MikTeX, and have been having a play around with them, but the one thing which still worries me is the referencing. I've downloaded JabRef, but I can't get it to work with my outputs. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong (generally, the output just contains the name of the key, not the actual reference, and no bibliography is built at the bottom), but this is the one area in which, at the moment, Word/Endnote still wins hands down. Can anyone help with this, or point me in the right direction?

Equally, if anyone knows of any better options that TeXniccenter, MikTeX, or JabRef, feel free to suggest. The problem is that I have zero experience in programming, and lots of the internet-based info is written by people who know a lot more about this kind of thing than me, even to the extent where I'm confised by terms like "class" and "argument".

Thanks for the help in advance! :-)

A

Hello

I used LaTex for my MSc thesis, but have forgotten most of it. I used to use BibTex for referencing. I had to compile the references before compiling the document to change the output to show the actual reference (there was a BibTex compile button-This needs to be done a couple of times...not enough to click on the Bibtex compile once. I used to click around 3/4 times to make sure it has fully compiled). Once that is compiled you can then convert the document to the dvi or pdf viewer.

Check the Latex Wikibook, which I always found quite helpful.

Good luck

R