Sharing your working paper with external Professors, researchers etc.

S

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to PhD life, thought I would seek advise here first. I want to share a rough draft of my paper with a Professor from another university whom I met at a conference. He said I could send him my work and he would take a look at it. I want to send the paper to him and also share some other ideas on methodology, which he is an expert in. My question to experienced PhD students - is it safe to share everything you are in the process of doing with other researchers? Will they not "steal" your ideas? Or am I being too paranoic and hillarious?:$ Your hints would be very much appreciated.

D

Hi Sheyna,

just some questions: what does your supervisor think about it? Or did you not contact your supervisor about the paper?

P

There's always a risk before it's in the public domain, as I found out to my (naive) cost....
S

R

One of my supervisors told me to be careful who I shared my work-in-progress with if it wasn't in the public domain. I was mildly surprised at the time as the rather senior academics concerned were all in the same area of research and I thought they were all quite chummy with each other, but academia is so competitive that I think it was very timely advice that I have always kept in mind. If you don't already know and trust these people, regardless of their status in the academic hierarchy, you could decide on whether to share your work by thinking about whether it would have a negative impact on your PhD if someone else passed your work or ideas off as their own? Not to encourage total paranoia, but you need to maintain intellectual ownership of your work if it's a career thing for you.

J

it is a bit of a risk, and you should cetainly speak to your supervisor first, that is just being polite. I would think long and hard before I sent any draft work to anyone other than my supervisors.