Should I publish a article before a Phd?

L

Hi Everyone,

I am a Biosciences student completing my MSc and looking to start a Phd after I complete my existing course.
When graduating from my BSc (Hons) I immediately started to apply for Phd's but regrettably was unsuccessful either due to someone with more experience including published work or having a masters... I therefore decided to complete my masters but I am concerned this is still not enough to secure a Phd position in my field and therefore wonder whether I need to try and publish an academic article (even in a student journal) to tick every box possible when applying?

My concern is that my masters is PT and I have roughly 25hrs pw to study, I appreciate producing a good piece of work worthy of publishing would take a considerable amount of time, but if it is absolutely necessary, then I would try my upmost to produce something.

What are your thoughts/experiences? Any comments would be hugely appreciated.

Thank you!

You don't need to publish to a paper but it looks good. I would focus on your Masters and getting as much out of it as possible. Publishing a paper during your Master's requires a bit of good fortune to do it one year, so I wouldn't worry about not publishing.

L

Thank you rewt I appreciate your response.

J

Rewt is right, it can be a lot of work --- the peer view process can also take time. I would suggest submitting a poster representing your work to a good conference, but with COVID there's lots of disruption, some may still go ahead online.

D

Greetings LDEY20,