Similar Situation?

E

Hi Gals and Guys,
I haven't been on here for a while - what with renovating a 1930's semi, leaving work and moving in with the in-laws, I have been quite distracted! :(
Anyway, to cut a very long story short, I have been awarded a fees-paid bursary from the Uni of my choice to study part-time for my PhD. This is obviously great news, but I am unsure as to whether to accept or not, and I am wondering if anybody can either advise me, or basically empathise with my situation!
I ideally wanted to study full time, so I applied for a scholarship but was unsuccessful - they have strongly encouraged me to apply again next year, and in the meantime have offered me this bursary.
I studied for my MA part time whilst working full time, and got a really good mark but nearly killed myself in the process!
I now have a toddler, hence why I ideally wanted to study full-time with funding (don't we all?!) to reduce the stress of working/mothering/studying blah blah.

Anyway, my options for this year are to either decline the offer and wait to apply for full-time funding next year. Or, accept the offer, study part-time and work part-time. The only thing holding me back from saying yey is the financial side, mainly (very big) nursery fees. It would be a great foot in the academic door though, and i am so desperate to get started on this.

Is anybody else studying, working and looking after young children? I am sure many of you are, and I am just being precious about it!
I think I may just need some reassurance...

Sorry to go on, and thanks for listening :)

I'd say go for it, from what I've seen at my own uni, its the people who are already there who get the bursarys. So you can go and work for a year and try again, but in the meantime your face isn't seen around the department and some other little upstart will take your prospective PhDer place. If you are in the department and actively looking for funding then you are more likely to get it.