Social Research - help with ideas on nuclear power

K

Hi

I am studying for a Masters and I have to do a group project on finding out Uni student's perception of nuclear power compared to other energy sources. I am totally clueless on social research (I am a physical geographer!). We have to use 2 social research methods, I am thinking focus group (for a collective view point) and quetionnaires.

I really not to sure on this whole thing. Do you have any tips? I have been reading tons of social science books and journals, but they don't make much sense to me. The tutors aren't much help. Ahhh

p.s. has been cross-posted on other forums.

Cheers

Kangaroo

What aspects of this are you not too sure about? Are you struggling with starting the whole thing off, or are you unsure how to go about putting the methods you have chosen into action?

It sounds as if you are on the right lines in terms of the methods you have chosen as focus groups will allow you to get in depth-data, while questionaires will provide information from a wider number of people.

If you are a bit more specific I'm sure people on ths forum will be able to help.

V

Hello- agree with the above, think the way you approach it- with focus groups (qualitative) and surveys (quantitative)- would produce some interesting results. In terms of both, you would need to make sure that the people taking part are representative of 'students' as far as possible (so gender, class, age and so on), especially for the questionnaire section. I suppose that the other big problem would be getting people to take part, which is always difficult. I think you should be able to set up a questionnaire online using a free website, but I cant remember what it is (sorry!). But I think combining qualitative and quantitative research in the way you are thinking would be an interesting way to go about it. Hope that helps.

V